A different kind of post.

I usually post blogs more about what’s been going on socially rather than whats going on in my mind.  This post is a little different. It’s entirely about whats been going on in my mind.

This stemmed from an amazing Bible study with Taylor and Margaret today. We had some really great conversation, and we discussed alot of what I am about to talk about.

So I’ve been thinking alot lately about how this semester has really impacted my spiritual growth positively and negatively.  Right now, I am reading Jesus Daily in the mornings on the metro, and at night, I’m reading the Gospel of Mark.  God has really opened my eyes to alot today, and I’ve had several realizations of how Biblical history is repeating itself.

Just a warning, I’m no theological mastermind. I have no training, and I could be completely wrong in my interpretations.  But this is my blog, and it’s here for my thoughts. Please take it with a grain of salt, and remember that it’s important to examine what the Bible actually says before agreeing with someone else’s take on it. Also, I’m extremely sorry if I offend anyone with any of this. There’s a fine line between observing and judging, and I’m sorry if any of this seems to cross that line.

With all of that being said, here’s whats on my mind.

Europe is a dark place. The Word of God is not alive here, and while I’ve been living here, the absence of light has been like a heavy weight on my chest.  We always say, pray for Africa, China, India… but guys, pray for your neighbor who hears but doesn’t understand. Pray for your neighbor who listens but turns away. Just because Europe is a first world country with plenty of water and electricity, that doesn’t mean that they have everything.

Today I was on the metro, and I was looking out into what seems to be the most dead and impoverished area of Bilbao.  I saw beautiful mountains surrounding this area of poverty, ruin, and despair. All I could think was, You’re the God of this City. Now I know that sounds a little crazy, but just give me a second. I’m looking at the mountains, seeing one of the most awe-inspiring aspects of God’s creation, and in the middle of it is just man-made ruin.  In this area there are abandoned rigs and factories, who knows when they were last functioning. But in the pursuit of wealth, it just lead to…nothing. Ruin. And then I thought, how is what had happened here any different than the Old Testament Israel? It’s like, God is this amazing, loving, great God, but at the same time, he is a just God that never forces us into living according to His calling. We can pursue whatever we want, whether it be happiness, knowledge, wealth, or Hi,. Which right now, as a Christian who wants everyone to know how great God is, that is REALLY hard for me to understand. God wants to be the God of this city, and these people, they know about him.  This is a “Catholic country”. Most everyone sees the churches and knows why they’re there. Or at least they think they do. They see religion, but they don’t understand that it’s so much more than that. They hear the words, but their minds are closed to the meaning. God is calling to them, but they don’t hear him. How devastating is that?

But why have their hearts been hardened? I don’t know about the rest of Europe, but here’s my theory with the Spanish. The church’s actions turned the people away.

Here’s a quick history lesson for you.  Long story short, Franco took over Spain with a violent fist, and he and his men proclaimed to be devout Catholics. During the Civil war, the Catholic church supported him. There are actually pictures of priests in their robes holding machine guns. What kind of god supports and allows for the killing of innocent men, women, and children? Here’s where the hardening of hearts comes in, in my opinion.

We all know that quote by Ghadi, “I like your Christ. I do not like your Christians.”

My prayer is that I will never, ever be a reason to turn someone away from Christ.

Anyway, back to where I was going with history repeating itself. So I went to Rome, as most of you know. I stood in line for an hour to see the absolutely incredible St. Peter’s Basilica. I stood in line for another hour and a half and paid the reduced price of 8 euros to go into the Vatican museums and the Sistene chapel. And while I was in this entire COUNTRY owned and operated by the Catholic church, surrounded by souvenir shops and full of soliciting tour guides, I couldn’t help but think of when Jesus threw out all of the sellers in the temple (Matthew 21; Mark 11). Stunning similarities in these situations. Now don’t get me wrong, I appreciate art. Alot. But let’s think about the many examples where God calls us to so much more than grand offerings (Micah 6:6-8; Mark 12:33, just to name a couple). I couldn’t help to wonder, what is all of this for? Is this for God or for man? For money? For power?

Which of course ties into what I read tonight that made me have to get these thoughts down on paper. Mark 12:38.

“As he taught, Jesus said, ‘Watch out for the teachers of the law. They like to walk around in flowing robes and be greeted in the marketplaces, and have the most important seats in the synagouges and the places of honor at banquets. They devour widows’ houses and for a show make lenghty prayers. Such men will be punished most severely.'”

Taylor’s host mom told him a couple of weeks ago why they don’t go to church. She said that she doesn’t go because she doesn’t agree with the Catholic church. (There is not a single non-Catholic church in Bilbao, to my knowledge. As far as I know, the closest Protestant church is in Madrid, a 5 hour bus ride) She said that they spend so much money on their churches and themselves while there is so much poverty in the world. She asked him why the church isn’t doing more for the poor even though they have so much money.

She asks a great question. How many more have turned their backs to the church for the same reason? I probably shouldn’t ask a question that I don’t really want to know the answer to.

“Watch out”, Jesus says.

How can we let people know that our God is so much more than all of that controversy? That he fully desires an amazing, intimate, personal relationship with every believer? How do we undo the damage and the hurt that the church has causes in the passed.

Pray. Love. And let that light shine.

 

2 thoughts on “A different kind of post.

  1. How lucky am I to have you in my life. You are amazing at putting words to our struggles and questions. I sincerely enjoyed this blog.

Leave a comment